EI Regions

Constitutional provisions

Article 13 (Regional Structures) of the EI Constitution governs the establishment and functioning of the EI regions.

  1. Education International shall establish five (5) regions:
    1. Africa;
    2. North America and the Caribbean;
    3. Asia and the Pacific;
    4. Europe; and
    5. Latin America
  2. The definition of regions and the allocations of countries to them shall be established in the by-laws.
  3. A regional structure may be established to:
    1. advise the Executive Board on policies and activities to be undertaken by the Education International in the concerned region;
    2. develop and promote policies in relation to any regional intergovernmental body and represent member organisations at that body.
  4. A Regional Structure shall be governed according to By-Laws approved by the Executive Board. Reports of such a Regional Structure shall be submitted to the Executive Board.
  5. The Education International may also establish such sub-regional and cross-regional structures as it deems necessary to provide advice to the Executive Board on policies and activities which may be undertaken in countries in a sub-region or in countries in more than one region, where the countries are linked by the existence of an intergovernmental body for the governments of the countries concerned, or by a cultural or linguistic inheritance. Such structures shall be governed by By-Laws approved by the Executive Board. (In 2011, the EI Executive Board established the Arab Countries Cross Regional Structure (ACCRS).)

Allocation of countries to Regions

Please click here to download a list.

Share this page